My Friend Transformed My Mindset From “Lack” To “Abundance.” Here’s What He Said.

Don’t decrease the goal. Increase the effort.

Biliz Maharjan
3 min readNov 3, 2023
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

A few days ago, I was having a conversation with a friend. He said that his girlfriend always complains about her overspending habits. She always says, “I need to stop spending and start saving.”

During our conversation, I said something similar. I told my friend I needed to stop buying new clothes and start saving money.

He smiled and said, “No. You should buy whatever you want. But, you need to be worthy of it.”

What do you mean? I asked.

He gave me an example of his girlfriend. “Ruby (his girlfriend) always talks about her overspending habit and tells me she needs to start saving. But she never says anything about growing her income. She never talks about earning more money.”

Don’t decrease the goal. Increase the effort.

My friend’s girlfriend and I were focusing on lack.

We needed to shift our mindsets and focus on abundance instead.

I learned that I should change my mindset and focus on increasing my worth instead of decreasing my needs.

--

--

Biliz Maharjan

I write about self-improvement, creativity, and writing. Free writing guide—store.bilizmaharjan.com